Boys Varsity Wrestling · Wrestling: Rainey named to Tennessean All-Midstate Team

Ethan Rainey, the state champion for Class A/AA in the 220-pound division, was named to the 2019 Tennessean All-Midstate Wrestling Team.

He was named to the second team, behind Wrestler of the Year and Class AAA state champion Skylar Coffey of Brentwood.


First team

The first eight players are nominees for the boys wrestler of the year. The winner will be announced on May 31 at the fourth annual Tennessean Sports Awards presented by Farm Bureau Health Plans.

Skylar Coffey

Brentwood, Jr.

Weight class: 220 pounds

Why chosen: Coffey defeated Rossview’s Logan McMillan by a 13-3 major decision to claim the Class AAA state title.


Landon Fowler

Blackman, Sr.

Weight: 170 pounds

Why chosen: Fowler finished runner-up, falling 3-1 to Science Hill’s Chase Diehl in the Class AAA championship.


Cameron Henderson

Smyrna, Sr.

Weight class: 138 pounds

Why chosen: Henderson finished Class AAA state runner-up to Tennessee’s Dillon Pendley, falling 7-3.


Christian Isbell

Clarksville, Jr.

Weight class: 132 pounds

Why chosen: Isbell defeated Arlington’s Luke Kerns to win the Class AAA state championship with a 6-4 decision.


Michael Kramer

Wilson Central, Sr.

Weight class: 285 pounds

Why chosen: Kramer defeated Walker Valley’s Jadon Langford by pin to win his second straight Class AAA state championship.


Brayden Palmer

Beech, Sr.

Weight class: 126 pounds

Why chosen: Palmer defeated Science Hill’s Braxton Mann by pin to secure his second straight TSSAA Class AAA state championship.


Alex Pergande

Wilson Central, Sr.

Weight class: 145 pounds

Why chosen: Pergande finished Class AAA runner-up to Cleveland’s Grant Lundy, falling 5-1 in the championship.


Bradley Williams

Clarksville, Sr.

Weight class: 195 pounds

Why chosen: Williams defeated Cleveland’s Isaiah Perez by a 5-3 decision to claim his second straight Class AAA state title.


Rest of first team

Chris Calvin

McGavock, So.

Weight class: 106 pounds

Why chosen: Calvin finished Class AAA runner-up to Cleveland’s Trae McDaniel, falling 12-4 in the championship.

Calvin Eason

Father Ryan, Fr.

Weight class: 113 pounds

Why chosen: Eason finished third in Division II, beating Baylor’s Kade Hartine 17-5 in the third-place match.

Jacob Haney

Lawrence Co., Sr.

Weight class: 120 pounds

Why chosen: Haney finished third in Class AAA, beating Cane Ridge’s William Witt 5-2 in the third-place match.

Jeremiah Herron

Beech, Sr.

Weight class: 152 pounds

Why chosen: Herron finished runner-up in Class AAA, falling to Cleveland’s Austin Sweeney 5-2 in the championship.

Ryan Brown

Lebanon, Sr.

Weight class: 160 pounds

Why chosen: Brown finished third in Class AAA, pinning Wilson Central’s Levi Brown in the third-place match.

Brooks Sacharczyk

Blackman, Jr.

Weight class: 182 pounds

Why chosen: Sacharczyk finished runner-up Class AAA, falling to Arlington’s Austin Antcliffe 6-1 in the championship.

Second team

106 pounds: Ty Holland, Harpeth, Jr.

113 pounds: Thomas Borders, Wilson Central, So.

120 pounds: Thomas Wesnofske, Father Ryan, So.

126 pounds: Nathan Ford, Greenbrier, Sr.

132 pounds: Dylan Becker, Harpeth, Sr.

138 pounds: Job Dooley, Franklin, Sr.

145 pounds: Jacorey Miller, Father Ryan, Jr.

152 pounds: Lawrence Madson, Father Ryan, Jr.

160 pounds: Dan McGuire, MBA, Jr.

170 pounds: Dylan Quinn, Mt. Juliet, Sr.

182 pounds: Henry Hagey, Father Ryan, Sr.

195 pounds: Christian Moolman, Franklin, Sr.

220 pounds: Ethan Rainey, White House, Sr.

285 pounds: Thomas Gore, Brentwood Academy, Sr.

Coach of the year

John Kramer

Wilson Central

Why chosen: Wilson Central finished third in the Class AAA state duals and third in the Class AAA individual tournament.